Sri Lanka's Largest information network. Sri Lanka, Ceylon Lanka, All about Sri Lanka, Provinces, Districts, Government Offices, Private sector, Hospitals, Roads with general travel information and places to travel.

Siriwardena to lead SL Women in Asia Cup

Shashikala Siriwardena will lead a 15-member Sri Lanka Women squad in the Women’s T20 Asia Cup to be held in Malaysia from June 3 to 10. Sri Lanka Cricket named the side on Wednesday (May 30) after Faiszer Musthapa, the minister of sports, gave his approval.

Chamari Athapaththu had been named captain of the original 15-member squad but she and Ama Kanchana were both ruled out after contracting dengue. While Siriwardena was elevated as stand-in skipper, Harshitha Madavi and Inoka Ranaweera were brought into the 15 from the standbys’ list.

The teams are using this tournament as one of the preparatory exercises for the Women’s World T20 in the Caribbean later this year. Apart from Sri Lanka, the others in the fray are India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Thailand and Malaysia, the host nation.

The sides will play each other once in the round-robin league before the top two lock horns in the June 10 final at the Kinrara Oval in Kuala Lumpur. India are the defending champions, having defeated Pakistan by 17 runs in the final in Bangkok in December 2016.

Sri Lanka Women squad: Yasoda Mendis, Anushka Sanjeewani, Rebeca Vandort (wk), Hasini Perera, Shashikala Siriwardena (capt), Nilakshi de Silva, Udeshika Prabodhani, Sugandhika Kumari, Oshadhi Ranasinghe, Nipuni Hansika, Malsha Shehani, Achini Kulasuriya, Inoshi Fernando, Harshitha Madavi, Inoka Ranaweera. Standbys: Sripali Weerakkoddy, Kavisha Dilhari, Sathya Sandeepani.

Information Source www.wisdenindia.com on 2018.05.31

Thanks for reading Siriwardena to lead SL Women in Asia Cup

« Prev Post

No comments:

Post a Comment